PMO accepts Surjit Bhalla’s resignation from EAC

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has accepted the resignation of economist Surjit Bhalla as a part-time member of his Economic Advisory Council (EAC), the Prime Minister office (PMO) said on Tuesday.

“I resigned as part-time member PMEAC on December 1,” Bhalla said.

A senior official in the PMO said that his resignation would take effect from the same date.

Bhalla was appointed as a member to PMEAC which is a non-constitutional, non-permanent and independent body constituted to give economic advice to the government of India, specifically to the Prime Minister. The council is headed by NITI Aayog Member Bibek Debroy.

The announcement of his resignation comes a day after Reserve Bank of India (RBI) Governor Urjit Patel resigned from his post. But, Bhalla said in a Twitter post that he had resigned from his post on December 1.