Nitish Kumar expands Bihar cabinet, BJP’s Shahnawaz Hussain inducted as minister

Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar on Tuesday expanded his Cabinet with the induction of 17 new ministers at a function at the Raj Bhavan.

Governor Phagu Chouhan administered the oath of office to the new ministers – eight from the BJP, seven from the JD(U) and one each from Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) and Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP).

Former Union minister and BJP national spokesperson Shahnawaz Hussain was the first to take the oath. Others who took oath from the BJP include Nitin Nabin, Samrat Chaudhary, Neeraj Kumar Singh, Janak Ram, Subhash Singh, Alok Ranjan Jha and Narayan Prasad. Whereas from JD(U) Sanjay Kumar Jha, Shravan Kumar, Madan Sahni, Lesi Singh and Sunil Kumar took the oath.

CM Nitish Kumar said that the allocation of portfolios will be notified soon.