Night curfew in 7 districts of Uttar Pradesh  amid covid-19 surge

Amid rising in Covid-19 cases, the Uttar Pradesh government announced night curfew in 7 district of Uttar Pradesh including Gautam Buddha Nagar, Ghaziabad, Meerut, Allahabad, Kanpur, Bareilly and Lucknow.

The restrictions will be enforced from 10 pm to 5 am till April 17. During the night curfew the movement of essential goods or commodities and medical and other essential services shall be exempted.

“All government, private educational institutes (except medical, para medical and nursing) including coaching institutes shall be barred from holding physical classes till 17 April 2021,” the order said, adding that all exams including practical’s shall be held as per schedule.

The order also said there will be intensive enforcement of all protocols prescribed by the government, including face masks, social distancing protocol and sanitisation, by police/incident commanders and departments concerned.

“It has been decided to impose night curfew from 10 pm to 5 am in Ghaziabad district. The order comes into effect from tonight,” Ajay Shankar Pandey Ghaziabad District Magistrate said on Thursday.

Uttar Pradesh’s Gautam Buddh Nagar recorded 125 new coronavirus cases on Wednesday, taking the district’s tally to 26,697, according to official data.