N Biren Singh takes oath as Chief Minister; Biswajit, Khemchand, Govindas, Nemcha, Awangbow as ministers

N Biren Singh on Monday took oath as the Chief Minister of Manipur for the second term at the Raj Bhavan in Imphal. Governor La Ganesan administered the oath of office and secrecy to Biren and five other cabinet ministers, including BJP stalwart Biswajit, who was rumored to be one of the forerunners for the CM’s post.

On Sunday evening, union cabinet ministers Nirmala Sitharaman and Kiren Rijiju, who were BJP observers for the ‘election’ of the legislative party leader in Manipur, handed over the letter of unanimously electing former Chief Minister N Biren Singh as the leader of the BJP legislature party.

Today’s swearing-in includes – four BJP MLAs Th Biswajit Singh, Yumnam Khemchand, Govindas Konthoujam, Nemcha Kipgen, and one Naga People’s Front MLA – Awangbow Newmai. Notably, Biswajit, Khemchand, and Govindas were in the news to be the aspirants for Chief Minister’s post.

BJP supremo JP Nadda, who arrived in Imphal today, attended the event. Also among the attendance were Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma, Tripura CM Biplab Kumar Deb, former Manipur CM Okram Ibobi, leaders of various political parties, and state government officials.

After nine days of speculations and various trips to Delhi, the CM’s face was declared by Nirmala Sitharaman yesterday after a meeting of less than an hour at the BJP’s state head office, Thambal Shangle, Imphal.

The BJP kept mum on the announcement of the Chief Minister of the Manipur even after clinching the absolute majority and after nine days of declaration of results, indicating the selection of a new face for the Chief Minister post. But, the former Chief Minister’s appointment was a surprising move from the saffron party.