Monsoon session begins, Key Bills lined up

The Monsoon session of Parliament began on July 18 and both the government and the opposition have planned their strategies for both houses of the Parliament.

The current session will have 18 sittings which come to 108 hours, excluding the Question Hour and the Zero Hour, 62 hours will be available for government agenda.

Over the next 18 sessions, it is expected to take up a total of 68 pending bills. During the session of among these 68, 25 bills are listed for consideration and passage and three for withdrawal.

At least, 18 new bills are listed for introduction, consideration and passage.

Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan and Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu have appealed to all political parties and MPs to stop the blame game and ensure that Parliament functions without unnecessary disruptions.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi reaches Parliament ahead of the session and said that “I hope every MP; every party will make this a fruitful session. I always express this hope and make that effort. I am hoping this time too.”

At the onset of the session, in presence of the PM Modi, the opposition lawmakers staged a protest and started shouting slogans of “We want justice” – a reference to the special status demanded by Andhra Pradesh, as well as for a sudden rise in the number of mob killings across the country.

The Congress says it will support the Telugu Desam Party’s demand for special status to Andhra Pradesh but would also flag other issues that impact people elsewhere in the notices it files.

Key Bills & Ordinances Lined up for Monsoon Session

Fugitive Economic Offenders bill, 2018.

The National Sports University Ordinance, 2018. 

The Criminal Law (Amendment) Ordinance, 2018.

The Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Amendment) Ordinance, 2018. 

The Commercial Courts, Commercial  Division and Appellate Division of High Courts (Amendment) Ordinance 2018.

The Homoeopathy Central Council (Amendment) Ordinance, 2018.

The Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, 2017.