Manipur polls 2022: First phase underway; Governor, CM, Dy. CM cast their votes

To decide the fate of 173 candidates and the state’s next five years, 12,09,439 voters have started voting across 1721 polling stations in the first phase of 12 Manipur Legislative Assembly elections. The Election Commission recorded a voter turnout of 11.68 percent until 10 am.

In the first hour of polling, Governor La Ganesan, chief minister N Biren Singh exercised their franchises and appealed to all voters to cast their valuable votes to choose their representatives.

Deputy Chief Minister Yumnam Joykumar Singh, an NPP candidate of the Uripok assembly constituency, voted in Naoremthong Upper Primary School in Imphal.

The first phase covers 38 seats: ten constituencies are in Imphal East, 13 in Imphal West, six in Bishnupur and Churachandpur each, and three in Kangpokpi district.

Given the COVID-19 pandemic, Manipur Chief Electoral Officer Rajesh Agarwal said, adequate arrangements are in place in all polling stations, including sanitization of all polling stations before the polling starts.

“Moreover, ASHA and Anganwadi workers have been engaged, and protective articles such as masks, gloves, face shields, thermal scanners, PPE kits, etc., have been provided to polling parties,” Mr. Agarwal said.

“Voters who are COVID positive or are under quarantine will be allowed to vote at the last hour between 3 pm to 4 pm.”

A total of 173 candidates, including 15 females, are in the fray for the poll scheduled for today. The second and last phase of the election in the state is on March 5. The results will be declared on March 10.