Maharashtra: Devendra Fadnavis elected as leader of BJP legislative party

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday elected Devendra Fadnavis as the leader of the legislature party.

Fadnavis thanked party MLAs for reposing faith in him of running the state again.

“Hon CM Shri @Dev_Fadnavis elected leader of Maharashtra BJP legislative party,” BJP Maharashtra said in a tweet.

Fadnavis had earlier asserted that he will be the chief minister for another five years.

On Tuesday, Devendra Fadnavis had said the Shiv Sena was not promised the Chief Minister’s post for two-and-a-half-years when the alliance was formalised before the Lok Sabha polls.

The Sena is keen to share the chief minister’s post during the next government’s five-year tenure. However, the BJP is not ready to accept the “50:50 formula”

In last week’s Maharashtra election, the BJP won 105 seats in the 288-member House and its ally Shiv Sena 56. Consequently, the BJP has to rely on Sena to form the government.

Post results, the two parties have been engaged in a bitter tussle over the Chief Minister’s post. The Shiv Sena has demanded a 50:50 power-sharing formula with a rotational CM post. While the BJP is not agreeing to equal power-sharing formula.