Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2019: Congress fields Ashish Deshmukh against Devendra Fadnavis

The Congress on Thursday evening released a list of 19 more candidates for the Maharashtra Assembly elections, fielding former BJP MLA Ashish Deshmukh from Nagpur South West constituency against Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis.

Among the new names announced by the party is Sushil Amrutrao Rane from Kankavli.

The party has also cleared another name – Nana Patole to fight from Sakoli seat.

“The Congress Election committee has approved the candidature of Nana Patole as Congress Candidate for ensuing general election to the legislative assembly of Maharashtra from Sakoli Constituency,” the release said.

Elections in Maharashtra will be held on October 21 and the counting of votes will take place October 24.