Karnataka Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar disqualifies 14 rebel MLAs day before Yediyurappa govt’s floor test

Karnataka Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar on Sunday disqualified 14 rebel MLAs with immediate effect till end of the assembly term.

Eleven rebel MLAs of the Congress and three from Janata Dal Secular were disqualified by the speaker.

The move came a day before the new chief minister of Karnataka BS Yediyurappa will have to prove his majority in the House.

KR Ramesh whose office extends till a new Speaker is chosen, said, “I would not resign. I will do my duty.”

On Thursday, the Karnataka Speaker had disqualified three rebel Congress lawmakers. 

Congress Siddaramaiah welcomed the decision of speaker to disqualify of 14 Lawmakers.

“I welcome the decision of spreaker to disqualify 14 MLAs. This honest decision of speaker will send strong signals for all the representatives in the country who might fall for @BJP4India’s trap,” Siddaramaiah tweeted.

The BJP had staked claim to power after the 14-month-old Congress-JDS coalition government failed the trust vote last week.  BJP defeated the Congress-JDS government by 105-99 votes in the floor test after a long intense power struggle in the Karnataka assembly.