Justices Dinesh Maheshwari and Sanjiv Khanna sworn in as Supreme Court judges

Justices Dinesh Maheshwari and Sanjiv Khanna were on Friday sworn in as judges of the Supreme Court.

They were administered the oath by Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi.

Justice Dinesh Maheshwari was earlier the Chief Justice of Karnataka High Court. Justice Khanna was a judge of Delhi High Court.

On Wednesday President Ram Nath Kovind had appointed them as Supreme Court Judges after the government accepted the Supreme court collegium’s recommendation on their elevation.

The Collegium decision taken on January 10 triggered a controversy, as it was in reversal of the previous decision taken on December 12, 2018 to recommend the elevation of Rajasthan High Court Chief Justice Pradeep Nandrajog and Delhi High Court Chief Justice Rajendra Menon to the Supreme Ciurt.