Jagan Mohan Reddy takes oath as Andhra Pradesh CM

YS Jagan Mohan Reddy on Thursday took oath as the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh.

Governor ESL Narasimhan administered him oath of office and secrecy at a public ceremony held at the Indira Gandhi Municipal (IGMC) Stadium in Vijayawada.

YSRCP won 22 out of 25 seats in the recently concluded Lok Sabha Polls and 151 of the 175 seats in the state Assembly, decimating the TDP headed by N Chandrababu Naidu, who became the first chief minister of the state after its bifurcation in 2014.

Reddy’s mother, his wife Bharati, sister and daughters were among the several people who attended the swearing-in.

Reddy’s council of ministers is expected to be sworn in on June 7.

Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhara Rao and DMK president M K Stalin were among the dignitaries who attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Congress president Rahul Gandhi congratulated Reddy on Twitter.

“Congratulations to Jagan Reddyji on being sworn in as the CM of Andhra Pradesh. My best wishes to him, his new team of ministers and to all the people of the state,” Rahul tweeted.