France are FIFA 2018 World Champions

Image Credit FIFA

France won the FIFA world cup 2018 after beating Croatia by 4-2 in an intense match on Sunday at Moscow’s Luzhniki stadium.

France became the champions after a gap of 20 years, last time France won was in year 1998.

Goals from Kylian Mbappe, Antoine Griezmann, Paul Pogba and Mario Mandzukic’s own goal gave France the win. Meanwhile goals from Ivan Perisic and Mario Mandzukic were not enough for Croatia to lift their maiden world cup trophy.

Antoine Griezmann was named man of the match

Luka Modrick of Croatia got the Golden ball award

Kylian Mbappe of France got the FIFA young player award

Harry Kane of England got the Golden Boot Award

Thibaut Courtois of Belgium got the Golden Glove award

FIFA Fair Play Trophy went to Spain