Finance ministry releases revenue deficit grant of Rs 9,871 crore to 17 states

The Ministry of Finance released its 5th monthly installment of Post Devolution Revenue Deficit (PDRD) grant of Rs 9,871 crore to the  States on 9 August.

It is provided to the States under Article 275 of the Constitution. The Fifteenth Finance Commission has recommended PDRD grants to 17 States during 2021-22.

The states recommended for PDRD Grant are Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttarakhand and West Bengal.

The eligibility of the states to receive this grant and the quantum of grant was determined by the Commission on the basis of the difference between the assessment of the revenue and expenditure of the state, taking into account the transfer for the financial year 2021-22.

The total amount released during the year 2021-22 to the all 17 states is 49,355.00 crore has been release so far.