Film Celebrities shine in Lok Sabha Polls

In the political battle of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, several celebrities including Hema Malini, Sunny Deol, Kirron Kher, Manoj Tiwari emerged victorious.

Veteran actress Hema Malini won from Mathura by 293,471 votes, defeating Narendra Singh of Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD).

Actress Kirron Kher, the BJP candidate from Chandigarh, defeated Congress’ Pawan Kumar Bansal by 46970 votes.

Bollywood’s actor Sunny Deol won Punjab’s Gurdaspur seat with 82,459 votes against Congress’ Sunil Jakhar.

Singer Hans Raj Hans and Bhojpuri actor Manoj Tiwari, the BJP candidates from Delhi won easily.

The Bhojpuri star Ravi Kishan defeated Ram Bhual Nishad of Samajwadi Party (SP)in Gorakhpur by 301,664 votes.

However, actress Urmila Matondkar, who contested from Mumbai North as a Congress candidate lost to BJP’s Gopal Shetty by 465,247 votes and actress Moon Moon Sen of Trinamool Congress lost to singer Babul Supriyo of BJP in Asansol by 197,637 votes.