Ex- Congress MLA Alpesh Thakor to contest Gujarat bypoll on BJP ticket

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday named former Congress MLA Alpesh Thakor as its candidates for upcoming Gujarat’s bypolls.

He will be contesting from Radhanpur, a seat he had won on a Congress ticket in 2017.

However, he resigned as MLA to join the BJP.

Another Congress defector, Dhavalsinh Narendrasinh Zala, will contest on a BJP ticket from Gujarat’s Bayad.

The Central Election Committee had finalised the list of BJP candidates for Bye Election of Legislative Assembly of Gujarat.

The BJP on Sunday announced names of its 38 nominees for assembly by-elections to be held across several states on October 21.

Of the 38 assembly seats, six are in Gujarat, five in Kerala, 10 in Uttar Pradesh, four in Assam, two each in Himachal Pradesh, Punjab and Sikkim and one each in Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Chhattisgarh, Odisha, Telangana and Rajasthan