EC announces election dates of Five States

The Election Commission (EC) on Saturday announced dates for elections in five states, including Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram.

Addressing the media, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) OP Rawat said that Chhattisgarh, affected by Maoist insurgency, will go to elections in two phases.

The first phase will be held on November 12 that will cover LWE hit districts. The second phase will be held on November 20 while polling in Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram will be held on November 28. Telangana and Rajasthan will go to polls on December 7.

Results for the elections in all five states will be announced on December 11.

Detail List of Election dates announced by EC

Chhattisgarh – Phase 1 on November 12, Phase 2 on November 20

Madhya Pradesh – November 28

Mizoram – November 28

Rajasthan – December 7

Telangana – December 7

The counting of votes in all the states will be held simultaneously on December 11.