Devendra Fadnavis takes oath as Maharashtra CM for 2nd term, Ajit Pawar his deputy

BJP’s Devendra Fadnavis on Saturday took oath as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra for a second term at Raj Bhavan while National Congress Party (NCP) leader Ajit Pawar was sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister of the state.

After they were sworn in, Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Devendra Fadnavis and Pawar and said he was “confident they will work diligently for the bright future of Maharashtra”.

The BJP and Sena, which fought the assembly elections in Maharashtra together, fell out over the chief minister’s post.

On November 12, Maharashtra came under President’s rule after all the parties failed to form a government in the state.

The BJP had emerged as the single-largest party with 105 seats in the 288-member Assembly. The Shiv Sena at 56, the NCP 54 and the Congress won 44 seats.