Delhi HC grants bail to CM Kejriwal, others in Chief Secretary assault case

Delhi High Court (HC) on October 25 granted bail to Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and his Deputy Manish Sisodia and 11 other MLA’s in the Chief Secretary Anshu Prakash assault case. The court, however, restricted the movement of CM Kejriwal and Deputy CM Sisodia and asked them to seek the court’s permission before leaving the national capital.

Delhi Chief Secretary Prakash was allegedly assaulted during a meeting at CM Kejriwal’s official residence on February 19. He alleged that he was beaten up by AAP MLAs in the presence of Kejriwal.

All the accused were granted bail on a personal bond of Rs 50,000 except Amanatullah Khan and Prakash Jarwal as they were earlier granted bail by the Delhi HC.

The 11 legislators of the AAP who have been named in the charge sheet include Khan, Jarwal, Nitin Tyagi, Rituraj Govind, Sanjeev Jha, Ajay Dutt, Rajesh Rishi, Rajesh Gupta, Madan Lal, Parveen Kumar and Dinesh Mohania.

The HC has now put up the matter for further hearing on December 7.