Delhi Assembly Election: Voting begins today amid tight security

The polling for the 70 assembly constituencies in the National Capital began at 8.00 am on Saturday and will continue till 6.00 pm. 

Over 1.47 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise.

The authorities have made tight security arrangements across the national capital, keeping an “extra vigil” in sensitive areas like Shaheen Bagh, Jamia Nagar and Seelampuri.

Delhi will witness a triangular contest between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress.

The AAP, under the leadership of Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, is seeking to retain the power in Delhi.

In 2015, AAP had swept the elections by a landslide margin of 67 seats, with the BJP winning only 3.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday urged voters to be a part of the festival of democracy by coming out to vote in maximum numbers.

“Today is the day of voting for the Delhi assembly elections. I appeal to all voters to participate in this festival of democracy in maximum numbers and create a new voting record,” PM Modi tweeted.

“Urging the people of Delhi, especially my young friends, to vote in record numbers,” he added.