Counting of votes for Bihar Assembly elections underway

Representational Image

Counting of votes for Bihar Assembly elections got under way on Tuesday amid strict restrictions to check the spread of COVID-19.

The fate of the Nitish Kumar-led JD(U) government, seeking a fourth straight term, will be decided today.

The counting of votes began this morning at 8 am for 243 seats in Bihar Assembly. The election was held in three phases on October 28, November 3 and November 7.

As per early trends-Mahagathbandhan chief ministerial candidate Tejashwi Yadav and his brother Tej Pratap are leading from their respective seats – Raghopur in Vaishali district and Hasanpura in Samastipur.

The exercise will decide the electoral fate of over 3,700 candidates.

Congress Spokesperson Jaiveer Shergill in a tweet claimed that the Mahagathbandhan “is going to sweep” the election and the rival alliance is “going to weep”.

“Ja Raha Hai BJP-JDU ka Vinash Aa Raha Hai RJD-Cong Ka Vikas Mahagathbandhan is going to sweep & Thugbandhan (BJP-JDU) is going to weep #BiharRejectsNDA,” he tweeted.

“Today’s results will prove BJP-JD(U) was not Double Engine but Double Puncture Sarkar,” he added.