Congress releases fourth list of Lok Sabha candidates

The Congress on Saturday night released its fourth list of 27 candidates, including 12 from Kerala two from Arunachal Pradesh, five from Chhattisgarh, seven from Uttar Pradesh and one from Andaman and The Nicobar Islands for the Lok Sabha elections.

However, the Congress denied party ticket to sitting MP and former Union minister K V Thomas from the Ernakulam Lok Sabha seat.

The party fielded its sitting MPs and former Union ministers Shashi Tharoor and K Suresh from Thiruvananthapuram and Mavelikkara Lok Sabha seats.

The Congress replaced Thomas, the sitting member from Ernakulam with young legislator Hibi Eden.

The party fielded former Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Nabam Tuki from Arunachal West constituency and former MP Harender Malik from Kairana.

The party is contesting on 16 seats of the total 20 seats in Kerala. It announced 12 of its candidates. While most of its eight sitting MPs have been re-nominated.