Chhota Rajan convicted, journalist Jigna Vora acquitted in J Dey murder case

Chhota Rajan
Chhota Rajan

In the seven-year-old J Dey murder case, a special court in Mumbai declared Chhota Rajan guilty.

Out of 12, 10 accused have been convicted. Journalist Jigna Vora and Joseph Paulson  have been acquitted

The court is expected to pronounce the quantum of punishment today itself.

Those convicted include Rohit Thangappan Joseph alias Satish Kalya, Abhijeet Kasharam Shinde, Arun Janardhan Dake, Sachin Suresh Gaikwad, Anil Bhanudas Waghmode, Nilesh Narayan Shendge alias Bablu, Mangesh Damodar Agawane, Deepak Sisodia. One other accused Vinod Chembur died of natural causes.

Journalist Vora, was suspected of allegedly instigating Rajan against Dey due to her own professional rivalry. She was believed to have passed on Dey’s information to the gangster.

The case dated back to June 11, 2011 when the veteran crime journalist, 56 at that time, was gunned down in suburban Powai.

Rajan, who is currently lodged in the Tihar Central Jail was extradited to India in December 2015.

“I feel relieved. This is the first time that an underworld don has been convicted in a regular [murder] case,” said Former Mumbai police commissioner Arup Patnaik , who was the commissioner at the time of the murder.