Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel expands cabinet, inducts nine ministers

Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh Bhupesh Baghel on Tuesday conducted the first expansion of his Cabinet.

Nine MLAs took oath as ministers, including a woman legislator.

Governor Anandiben Patel administered the oath to new state cabinet ministers at the police ground in Raipur.

Among the ministers sworn in included Umesh Patel, Mohammed Akbar, Anila Bhediya, Ravindra Chaubey, Rudra Guru, Jai Singh Agarwal, Kawasi Lakhma, Premsai Singh and Shiv Daheriya.

Bhupesh Baghel took oath as Chhattisgarh chief minister on December 17, after the Congress won the state assembly elections. TS Singh Deo and Tamradhwaj Sahu had taken oath as ministers when Baghel was sworn in as chief minister.

The Congress returned to power in the state after 15 years.