CBI court awards life imprisonment to NDFB chief Ranjan Daimary, 9 others in Assam blasts case

The chief of the National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB), Ranjan Daimary and nine others were on Wednesday sentenced to life imprisonment by a CBI special court in the 2008 Assam serial blast case that had claimed over 80 lives.

CBI Special Judge Aparesh Chakraborty pronounced the quantum of punishment for Daimary, George Bodo, B Tharai, Raju Sarkar, Anchai Bodo, Indra Brahma, Loko Basumatary, Khargeswar Basumatary, Ajay Basumatary and Rajen Goyary.

Three other convicts, Prabhat Bodo, Jayanti Basumatary and Mathura Brahma will be released after paying a fine imposed by the court.

The CBI court has ordered the release of two convicts – Nilim Daimary and Mridul Goyary as they have already served their sentence.

Ranjan Daimary and 14 others were convicted on January 28 under various sections of the IPC.

Daimary’s, bail was cancelled immediately after his conviction and he was arrested, while the others were already in judicial custody.

The Assam bombings took place on October 30, 2008 in Guwahati, Kokrajhar, Bongaigaon and Barpeta, killing more than 80 people.