BJP’s Devendra Fadnavis elected as Leader of Opposition in Maharashtra Assembly

Former Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis was on Sunday elected as the Leader of Opposition in Maharashtra Legislative Assembly.

Speaker Nana Patole announced the name of Fadnavis.

Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray and other leaders congratulated Fadnavis and welcomed his election to the post.

Fadnavis was elected as the first-ever BJP chief minister of the state in October 2014 and later sworn-in again in November 2019 along with NCP”s Ajit Pawar as Deputy Chief Minister.

However, Fadnavis resigned shortly after Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader Ajit Pawar quit as his deputy.

The resignations came after the Supreme Court ordered an immediate floor test, to be telecast live, so that BJP’s Fadnavis could prove his majority in the assembly.

The BJP-led government fell within four days of being sworn in on Saturday.