BJP’s BS Yediyurappa takes oath as Karnataka chief minister

The BJP’s BS Yediyurappa was on Friday sworn in as Chief Minister for the fourth time, three days after the collapse of 14-month-old Congress-JD(S) coalition government.

“Took oath as the Chief Minister of Karnataka at Rajbhavan,” Yediyurappa tweeted.

Governor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath of office and secrecy to him.

Earlier in the day, Yediyurappa met Governor Vala to stake the claim and requested him to administer the oath of office and secrecy on Friday itself.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah in a tweet congratulated Yediyurappa on becoming the new Karnataka Chief Minister.

“Congrats to @BSYBJP ji, newly sworn in CM of Karnataka. I am sure under his leadership and under the guidance of PM Modi, BJP will give a stable, pro-farmer and development oriented govt in the State. I assure people of Karnataka that BJP is committed to fulfil their aspirations,” Shah tweeted.

Former Karnataka chief minister H D Kumaraswamy on Tuesday lost the trust vote and the Congress-JD(S) coalition government collapsed in the Assembly. BJP defeated the coalition government by 105-99 votes in the floor test after a long intense power struggle in the Karnataka assembly.