BJP releases first list of candidates for Lok Sabha elections; PM Modi to contest from Varanasi, Amit Shah from Gandhinagar

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday released its first list of 184 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. The list was announced by Union Health Minister JP Nadda.

BJP has fielded Prime Minister Narendra Modi from Varanasi constituency while party president Amit Shah will contest from Gandhinagar.

Shah has replaced veteran BJP leader LK Advani in Gandhinagar, Gujarat.

Union ministers Rajnath Singh and Nitin Gadkari will contest from Lucknow and Nagpur respectively.

Smriti Irani will fight from Amethi, VK Singh will contest from Ghaziabad, Hema Malini from her existing constituency Mathura and Sakshi Maharaj will contest from Unnao.

The list came a day after the BJP’s central election committee held series of meetings to finalise names for the Lok Sabha elections.

Lok Sabha elections will be held in seven phases beginning April 11 and will continue for over a month till May 19. The votes will be counted on May 23.