Bihar: Janata Dal (United) expels 15 leaders for anti-party activities

The Janata Dal (United) on Tuesday expelled 15 of its leaders including an MLA, former MLAs and former ministers from the party for indulging in anti-party activities. 

Among those sacked from the party are Dadan Singh Yadav, Rameshwar Paswan, Bhagwan Singh Kushwaha, Kanchan Kumari Gupta, Sumit Singh, Ranvijay Singh besides others.

This came just days before the Bihar Assembly polls.

On Monday, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) expelled the rebels who quit the party to join Chirag Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party (LJP).

LJP earlier announced that it will not contest the Bihar assembly elections under the leadership of Nitish Kumar’s JD(U). However, they had not ruled out the possibility of forming a BJP-LJP government in the state.

LJP also said that while it would field candidates against JD(U), it would not do so in seats where the BJP is contesting.

The elections to elect 243-member Bihar assembly will take place in three phases. The first phase of elections will be held on October 28, the second phase on November 3 and the last phase of elections will be held on November 7. The results will be declared on November 10.