Bhupesh Baghel takes oath as the chief minister of Chhattisgarh

Congress leader Bhupesh Baghel on Monday took oath as the chief minister of Chhattisgarh.

Governor Anandiben Patel administered the oath of office to Bhupesh Baghel at Balbir Singh Juneja Indoor Stadium in Raipur. 

The ceremony had been delayed due to rainfall in capital Raipur. Former Chhattisgarh chief minister Raman Singh and senior Congress leader Motilal Vohra attended the oath taking ceremony of Bhupesh Baghel.

The Congress registered a resounding victory in Chhattisgarh, winning 68 seats whereas the BJP bagged only 15.

Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Congress president Rahul Gandhi and other senior leaders of the party attended the ceremony. 

Baghel, on Sunday was appointed as the new chief minister of Chhattisgarh, ending the suspense after days of intense deliberations.