Bhupesh Baghel is new Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh, will take oath on Monday

Chhattisgarh Congress chief Bhupesh Baghel will be the new Chief Minister of the state, the Congress announced on Sunday. The decision to make Baghel as CM was taken by Rahul Gandhi on Saturday but the announcement was made on Sunday. Baghel will take oath as Chhattisgarh Chief Minister on Monday evening.

Congress became the single largest party in Chhattisgarh by securing 68 seats out of 90, while BJP only managed to get 15 seats. Baghel is the man who led the team that inflicted the BJP’s worst defeat in state assembly elections.

Senior Congress leaders TS Singh Deo, Tamradhwaj Sahu, and Charan Das Mahant were the other three contenders for the top job. Several rounds of discussion were held on Saturday at the Rahul Gandhi’s residence, at the end of which, the party chief tweeted the image with a quote, “No matter how brilliant your mind or strategy, if you’re playing a solo game, you’ll always lose out to a team – Reid Hoffman.”

Congress tweeted an image of Baghel on Sunday and said, “Celebrations are in order in Chhattisgarh as @Bhupesh_Baghel is appointed CM. We wish him the best as he forms a govt. of equality, transparency & integrity starting off with farm loan waiver for farmers as we promised.”

Baghel along with his counterparts in Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh will take oath as chief ministers in back-to-back ceremonies on Monday.

Rahul Gandhi will attend all the events. Baghel’s oath-taking ceremony has been planned after that of Ashok Gehlot in Rajasthan and Kamal Nath in Madhya Pradesh.