Bhupendra Patel to sworn in as new CM of Gujarat

The BJP announced that Bhupendra Patel will be the new Chief Minister of Gujarat on Sunday. Bhupendra Patel is an MLA from Ghatlodia seat earlier held by Anandiben Patel.

He replaces Vijay Rupani, who unexpectedly resigned from the post Of CM on Saturday. Bhupendra Patel along with the council of members is likely to be sworn in on Monday.

He is a first-time MLA. Earlier, he served as a municipal councillor in Ahmedabad. He has been chairman, Standing Committee of Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation and also Chairman, Ahmedabad Urban Development Authority (AUDA).

Bhupendra Patel had won by the largest margins of 1.17 lakh from Ghatlodia in the last Assembly polls.