Assembly Election Results: Congress closes on 3-0

The Congress has emerged as the single largest party in the three heartland states of Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh on Tuesday in elections that are seen as semi-finals before next year’s Lok Sabha elections.

The Congress party won Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan, it bagged 114 seats in Madhya Pradesh and BJP which had been in power for 15 years, won 109 seats.

In Chhattisgarh, the Congress won an absolute majority in the 90-member house with Chief Minister Raman Singh conceding defeat just as Vasundhra Raje did in Rajasthan.

In Telangana, K Chandrashekhar Rao won a huge mandate and in Mizoram, the tribal Mizo National Front bagged the winning seat.

Madhya Pradesh Congress chief Kamal Nath wrote to Governor Anandiben Patel late Tuesday night, claiming it has the support of Independent candidates. The Governor asked them to wait till declaration of the final results.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi said, “We accept the people’s mandate with humility. I thank the people of Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan for giving us the opportunity to serve these states. The BJP Governments in these states worked tirelessly for the welfare of the people.”

He further said, “The family of BJP Karyakartas worked day and night for the state elections. I salute them for their hardwork. Victory and defeat are an integral part of life. Today’s results will further our resolve to serve people and work even harder for the development of India.”