Arvind Saxena sworn in as UPSC chairman

Arvind Saxena was sworn in as the Chairman of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) on Thursday.

The Oath of Office and Secrecy was administered by Prof Pradeep Kumar Joshi, senior most Member of the Commission, at a ceremony in New Delhi.

A student of Civil Engineering from Delhi College of Engineering and M Tech in Systems Management from IIT, New Delhi, Saxena was selected for the Civil Services and joined the Indian Postal Service in 1978. 

In 1988, he left the Indian Postal Service to join the Research and Analysis Wing of the Cabinet Secretariat, where he specialised in the study of strategic developments in neighbouring countries, including Nepal, China and Pakistan.

Saxena is a recipient of awards for Meritorious Services (2005) and Distinguished Services (2012), conferred by the Prime Minister, in recognition of his exemplary work and unblemished service record in the Research and Analysis Wing.