Another Trinamool Congress MLA joins BJP

In another setback for the Trinamool Congress (TMC), its MLA Monirul Islam on Wednesday joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Other TMC’ leaders Gadadhar Hazra, Mohammad Asif Iqbal and Nimai Das also joined the saffron party.

They joined the party in the presence of BJP leaders Mukul Roy and Kailash Vijaywargiya.

BJP Party said in a tweet, “TMC leaders join BJP in presence of Shri @KailashOnline and @MukulR_Official.”

On Tuesday, Two TMC MLAs and over 50 councillors had joined the BJP.

It came weeks after PM Modi had said that 40 MLAs from TMC party were in contact with the BJP and soon join. 

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee today decided not to attend PM Modi’s swearing-in ceremony.

She said, “the oath-taking ceremony is an august occasion to celebrate democracy, not one that should be devalued by any political party.”