8 JD-U leaders appointed as ministers in Bihar Cabinet

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on Sunday inducted eight new Janata Dal (United) JD-U leaders as Ministers in his Cabinet. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was given a seat, for which the party is yet to find a candidate.

Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Modi said in a tweet, “Nitish Kumar has offered BJP to fill the vacant ministerial seat. BJP decided to fill it in future”.

The newly appointed ministers are Ashok Choudhary, Narendra Narayan Yadav, Shyam Rajak, Sanjay Jha, Ram Sewak Singh, Lakshmeshwar Rai, Neeraj Kumar and Bima Bharti.

Governor Lalji Tandon administered the oath of office and secrecy to the Ministers.

The Cabinet expansion came two days after Nitish Kumar had said that his party JD-U will not be a part of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s new government.

He had told reporters that nobody from his party would feature in the council of ministers However, he added that his party, the JD-U, remains part of NDA.